Appointments to the Australian Energy Market Commission

Post date: Wednesday, 07th February 2018

The COAG Energy Council welcomes the appointment of Mr Charles Popple and Ms Allison Warburton as Commissioners to the Australian Energy Market Commission (AEMC).

Mr Popple will replace Mr Neville Henderson whose term concludes in February 2018. Ms Warburton will be appointed to one of two new Commissioner positions created to increase the strategic capacity of the AEMC.

Both Mr Popple and Ms Warburton bring a range of valuable skills and experience to the AEMC to ensure that it continues to operate in a highly professional and expert manner.

Mr Popple is highly experienced in power systems and network planning, investment and operations. He has a Master of Engineering and Bachelor of Engineering (Electrical) (Hon) and over 17 years of experience at the senior executive level in utility businesses. Mr Popple has a keen interest in ongoing energy market transformation and reform. 

Ms Warburton is a highly experienced commercial lawyer who has advised government and private sector clients on energy market investment, regulation and policy matters, including renewable generation and investment, and energy trading and contracting arrangements. She has held senior legal, corporate and board positions in the energy sector and has a deep knowledge of electricity and gas rules, legislation and policy frameworks. She also has extensive experience in the development and implementation of energy policy and regulation and in the stakeholder consultation required to ensure success in those processes.