16th Energy Council Ministerial Meeting

Posted: 19 Apr 2018 - 10:47

Ministers met to discuss their top priority – ensuring the security, reliability, affordability and sustainability of the electricity market whilst working towards a lower emissions future.

Read more

Review of Energy Consumers Australia

Posted: 22 Mar 2018 - 13:31

The COAG Energy Council is conducting the first independent review of Energy Consumers Australia (ECA) after the first three years of its operations.

Read more

Energy Security Board National Energy Guarantee - Consultation Paper Released

Posted: 15 Feb 2018 - 14:24

Call for Public Submissions on the National Energy Guarantee

Read more


Posted: 7 Feb 2018 - 10:34

The COAG Energy Council welcomes the appointment of Mr Charles Popple and Ms Allison Warburton as Commissioners to the Australian Energy Market Commission (AEMC).

Read more

Gas Price Trends Review 2017

Posted: 29 Jan 2018 - 15:42

Gas Price Trends Review 2017 and accompanying data was published on 29 January 2018.

Read more

The Health of the National Electricity Market Report

Posted: 20 Dec 2017 - 15:40

The Energy Security Board have delivered the inaugural Health of the National Electricity Market (NEM) Report. The Report assesses the present health and outlook for the NEM.

Read more

15th Energy Council Ministerial Meeting

Posted: 24 Nov 2017 - 12:20

Energy Ministers met today in Hobart for the fifteenth COAG Energy Council Meeting.

Read more

National Energy Guarantee Modelling

Posted: 27 Oct 2017 - 09:45

The Hon Josh Frydenberg has written to the Energy Security Board regarding the additional modelling for the National Energy Guarantee.

Read more

AEMO announces Drew Clarke as new chair of its board

Posted: 20 Oct 2017 - 16:41

AEMO today announced that the COAG Energy Council has endorosed the appointment of Mr Drew Clark as Chairman of the Board, commencing 2 November 2017.

Read more

13th Energy Council Meeting Media Release

Posted: 25 Aug 2017 - 15:50

Energy Ministers met to finalise their first annual advice to the Council of Australian Governments on the priorities of the Energy Council.

Read more